The Hidden Dissabilities


disabled

have had ringing in my ear since I had an ear operation in 1969. It sometimes get so bad I wish everyone would just leave me be alone until the the ringing calms down. Today is such a day and it got me thinking about all the disabilities that you cannot see.

Most people think of someone who is crippled or missing a limb to be disabled. They don’t realize that their are many disabilities that people suffer that are not obvious.

An unseen (or invisible, hidden, or non-apparent disability) refers to hundreds of conditions including mental illness, learning disabilities, diabetes, epilepsy or other seizure disorders, multiple sclerosis, cardiovascular disease, Attention Deficit/Hyperactivity Disorder (ADHD), cancer, arthritis and many more.

So many times I have talked to people and all I wanted to was get away from them. Not that they were not good people, it was because the noise in my ear was so loud I could not concentrate on the conversation. I have turned away people that could have been fantastic friends.

There is research ongoing on most all these ailments, some are working pretty good, some are not. So All I ask. Is if you meet someone who you might feel attracted to as a friend but they seem a little withdrawn, don’t give up on them too quick, you might have found a great friend. Just a little understanding goes a long way. Don’t worry, they are not contagious

My Thoughts

Leave a Reply

